Gluten-Free Banana Bread

I have been gluten-free since about age 9, not having bread is nothing new to me. And honestly, most times I don’t miss it.  Truth be told, I really only “crave” bread when I make a grilled cheese for the hubs. Some one needs to invent a gluten-free, dairy-free version of that sammy 😉 Not that it would taste remotely like the real thing…. but I’m here to tell you about banana bread.

I guess I lied earlier, banana bread is one thing I tend to miss too. There is an easy fix for that – the recipe below.  There are always ‘nanners in my house but they rarely go unused long enough to make good banana bread. So when I had a bunch ripen much faster than I expected, it was the first sign that I should treat myself to making a loaf. The second sign came a few days later when I found out a friend’s mom just eliminated gluten from her diet. For those who have gone gluten-free later in life, you know how challenging the transition is. Old habits die hard, carb habits die much harder. Since I almost never finish a loaf by myself and sharing gluten-free banana bread with those who can have the real things is sac-religious, I knew my friend’s mom needed this little glimmer of hope in her new gluten-free life.

New recipes always bear fun little surprises. Either I read the original recipe incorrectly or my tweaking to it created more batter. In any case, coming back into the kitchen from folding laundry to find my banana bread was overflowing from the loaf pan was not a fun surprise. With some quick maneuvering, I was able to save my oven from being a mess and get a bonus  mini loaf of ‘nanner bread.

The texture and flavor is awesome, life is good, and it’s Friday.

The original recipe is at this link: http://tiaskitchen.com/gluten-free-banana-bread-dairy-free-and-vegan/

{Gluten-free Banana Bread}

[Ingredients]

  • 2 cups Gluten-free Flour blend (I used Kinnikinnick’s Bread flour)
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 TBSP cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 medium, very ripe, bananas
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup melted coconut oil

[Directions]

  1. Preheat oven to 350F
  2. Mash bananas. I used my KitchenAid mixer with the whisk attachment on low.
  3. Add brown sugar and mix until just combined being careful not to overmix.
  4. Add egg, oil, and vanilla. Mix until just combined, again being cautious not to overmix.
  5. In a separate bowl, combine GF flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon.
  6. Add dry ingredients to wet in increments of about 1 cup at a time. Mix in dry to wet until moistened then add next cup of dry mixture. Repeat until all of the dry ingredients have been incorporated into the wet.
  7. Pour 3/4 of batter into a greased loaf pan. Pour remainder into a greased smaller loaf pan or any other oven safe receptacle.
  8. Bake for 45-50 minutes. I covered mine just over halfway through with foil to prevent the top from being too dark.
  9. Cool in pan for about 10 minutes then transfer to cooling rack.

Cheers,

Danielle

Leave a comment