Holy Guacamole

It just dawned on me that I can hands down, no question about it tell you what my favorite fruit is.  It seems so silly it has taken me so long to realize this but I guess that’s why they say hindsight is 20/20 🙂

The AVOCADO! I don’t think many people think of it as a fruit but it is.

You just can’t beat how versatile the avocado is.  You can eat it plain, cook an egg in one half, make guacamole, add it to smoothies, the list goes on.

Both of my posts today will have the grand avocado starring in the ingredient list.  This post will be dedicated to my guacamole recipe. Its a favorite at Byers family gatherings. It is really easy to make and I often use my Ninja to get everything but the avocado really finely diced. I like a chunky gauc but if you prefer a smoother consistency, throw everything in your food processor.

Don’t be afraid to jazz up this recipe, I often play around with different spices then wait to hear the reactions.  Our favorite mix-ins are Queso Blanco or Chihuahua cheese, fresh lemon or lime zest, a dollop of plain Greek yogurt or low-fat sour cream, green chilies, or jalapenos.

IMG_3243

{Holy Guacamole}

[Ingredients]

  • 4 avocados
  • 1/4 of a large red onion
  • Fresh cilantro, about 1/4 cup
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 vine ripened roma tomatoes
  • 1 bell pepper or fire roasted pepper
  • 2- 3 TBSP Lime juice
  • Chili powder
  • Salt & Pepper

[Directions]

  1. In a food processor, pulse cilantro, onion, garlic, pepper, and lime juice until finely chopped.
  2. In a medium sized bowl, smash avocados into a chunky consistency.
  3. Gently fold mixture from food processor into the mashed avocados.
  4. Add chili powder, salt, and pepper to taste.

Cheers,

Danielle

3 thoughts on “Holy Guacamole

Leave a comment